AROSA BEAR SANCTUARY

Together with the animal welfare organisation FOUR PAWS, Arosa Tourism and the Arosa Bears Foundation established the innovative and sustainable project, the Arosa Bear Sanctuary. More than eight years of project work later, the animal welfare project celebrated its official opening on the first weekend in August 2018. The Arosa Bear Sanctuary is the first bear conservation centre in Switzerland. Bears that had been forced to live in chains in tiny cages are freed from their miserable existence and brought to Arosa. In the midst of the natural mountain landscape with pastures, shrubs, rocks, several ponds, forest and snow, the bears are able to return to a more natural way of living in a suitable home. The Swiss bear conservation centre can accommodate up to five bears. In July 2018, Napa († 4.11.2020), a former Serbian circus bear, was the first to move in. Half a year later, in February 2019, two former Albanian restaurant bears, Meimo and Amelia, arrived in Arosa. And in December 2020, Jambolina, a former circus bear, was brought to Arosa Bärenland from the Ukraine. The once mistreated bears gradually returned to a more natural way of life at the Arosa Bear Sanctuary. This includes exploring their habitat, foraging, socialising with other bears and, last but not least, enjoying their natural hibernation.

The Arosa Bear Sanctuary combines sustainable animal protection and innovative tourism. This bear conservation centre is a place of solution-oriented animal protection. It promotes, informs and makes it possible to experience the bear in its natural environment. Visitors are presented with a unique and sustainable experiential setting. A number of educational elements at the visitor centre provide visitors with information about animal welfare. The different fates of the bears are displayed, with films of the rescue shown and interactive information conveyed. The visitor platform provides useful information about bears specifically aimed at children or adults. Finally, in the outdoor area, the bears can be observed surrounded by nature. Alongside the visitor platform, themed touristic experiences round off the visit.

Facts

  • Enclosure of approx. 2.8 hectares
  • Location: Below the Arosa Weisshorn cableway (intermediate station)
  • Natural mountain landscape with pastures, shrubs, rocks, alder trees, streams, forest
  • Capacity: up to 5 bears
  • Easy to reach with the Arosa Weisshorn cableway
  • Existing infrastructure such as restaurant (Brüggerstuba), toilet facilities, etc.
  • Event zones such as a visitor platform, a children’s playground, bear minigolf, an adventure trail, educational elements and guided tours are all part of the project

History

8 long years to reach the goal

When it was announced in July 2010 that the two young bears at the Bern Bear Park would have to be moved, the destination Arosa offered to build a facility and to take the bears. A project group was set up and drafted an initial proposal. In the autumn of 2010, Arosa received a sizeable sum as a legacy, which was earmarked for the Arosa Bear Sanctuary project. In the following spring, the civic authority of Arosa opposed the provision of the “Bärabad” site for the creation of a bear park. The project group then examined alternative locations.

In November 2012, the animal welfare organisation FOUR PAWS contacted Arosa Tourism and expressed an interest in collaborating on the Arosa Bear Sanctuary project. In 2013 and 2014, various locations and concepts were investigated and the “perfect” location was evaluated. Finally, the right location was found, and in June 2015 the civic authority of Chur approved the use of the perimeter next to the intermediate station of the Weisshorn cableway for the Arosa Bear Sanctuary. In November 2016, a vote was held to rezone the perimeter. The Arosa Bear Sanctuary received a resounding yes from 78% of the population of Arosa.

In December 2016, the “Arosa Bears” Foundation was established and the planning application for the basic infrastructure (enclosure, shelter and visitor platform) was drawn up. From April 2017, the Arosa Bears Foundation developed additional experience elements with the aim of positioning Arosa as a “bear village”. A further milestone came in May 2017 when the government of the canton of Grisons approved the partial revision of the local plan for the “Arosa Bear Sanctuary”. In July 2017, the lease to use and run the Arosa Bear Sanctuary was signed between the Arosa Bears Foundation and the civic authority of Chur. After the building permit was issued on 2 August, the groundbreaking ceremony took place on 31 August and on 2 September 2017 the construction of the Arosa Bear Sanctuary began. Construction continued as planned until the first big snowfall in mid-November 2017. After the winter break, construction resumed in April 2018. The Bear Sanctuary was completed in early summer, and in July 2018 the first bear was brought to Arosa.

The first year in the Arosa Bear Sanctuary

In July 2018, Napa, a former circus bear, was transferred from Palic in Serbia to Arosa. He was the first bear to take up residence at the Arosa Bear Sanctuary. On the long weekend of 3 to 5 August 2018, the Arosa Bear Sanctuary was opened in the presence of Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard and many other invited guests. Over the summer months, many happy visitors to the Arosa Bear Sanctuary were able to take a look at how Napa was getting along in his new home. Informative elements in the entrance area provide information about the suffering that mistreated bears have to endure. It is also possible to follow Napa’s transportation on an iPad. If you don’t want to spend all your time on the visitor platform, the bear minigolf and a playground are nearby.

In November 2018, Napa began his winter hibernation, and in January 2019 the outdoor enclosure had to be closed because of all the snow. On 1 February 2019, the long wait came to an end and the two new bears Amelia and Meimo from a restaurant in Albania arrived in Arosa. In early April 2019, Napa ended his hibernation, and on 18 May 2019 Amelia and Meimo were allowed to enter the outside enclosure for the first time. In July 2019, Amelia and Meimo were socialised successfully with Napa, and from then on all three bears were able to use the entire enclosure together.

arosabaerenland.ch

Arosa Bärenland

Zusammen mit der Tierschutzorganisation VIER PFOTEN realisierte Arosa Tourismus und die Stiftung Arosa Bären das innovative und nachhaltige Projekt Arosa Bärenland. Nach über acht Jahren Projektarbeit feierte das Tierschutzprojekt am ersten Augustwochenende 2018 die Eröffnung. Das Arosa Bärenland ist das erste Bärenschutzzentrum in der Schweiz. Bären, die früher angekettet in einem winzigen Käfig leben mussten, werden aus ihrer misslichen Situation befreit und nach Arosa gebracht. Inmitten der natürlichen Berglandschaft mit Weiden, Sträuchern, Felsen, mehreren Teichen, Wald und Schnee können die Bären in einem artgerechten Zuhause zu ihren natürlichen Verhaltensweisen zurückfinden. Das Schweizer Bärenschutzzentrum bietet Platz für bis zu fünf Bären. Im Juli 2018 ist Napa († 4.11.2020), ein ehemaliger serbischer Zirkusbär, als erster Bewohner eingezogen. Ein halbes Jahr später, im Februar 2019, kamen die beiden ehemaligen albanischen Restaurantbären Meimo und Amelia nach Arosa. Und im Dezember 2020 wurde Jambolina, eine ehemalige Zirkusbärin, aus der Ukraine ins Arosa Bärenland gebracht. Die einst misshandelten Bären fanden im Arosa Bärenland schrittweise zum natürlichen Verhalten zurück. Dies umfasst das Erkunden vom Lebensraum, die Nahrungssuche, die Vergesellschaftung mit anderen Bären und nicht zuletzt auch die natürliche Winterruhe.

Im Arosa Bärenland vereinen sich nachhaltiger Tierschutz und innovativer Tourismus. Das Bärenschutzzentrum lebt lösungsorientierten Tierschutz, klärt auf, informiert und ermöglicht das Erleben des Bären in seiner naturnahen Umgebung. Den Besuchern wird eine einzigartige Erlebnis-Inszenierung auf nachhaltige Art geboten. Verschiedene edukative Elemente des Besucherzentrums vermitteln Wissen zum Thema Tierschutz. Es werden die verschiedenen Schicksale der Bären sichtbar gemacht, Filme der Rettung gezeigt und interaktive Informationen vermittelt. Die Besucherplattform bereitet Wissenswertes über Bären gezielt für Kinder und für Erwachsene auf. Im Aussenbereich können die Bären schliesslich inmitten der Natur beobachtet werden. Neben der Besucherplattform runden touristische, themenbezogene Erlebnisangebote den Besuch ab.

Facts

  • Gehege von ca. 2.8 ha
  • Standort: Unterhalb der Luftseilbahn Arosa Weisshorn (1. Sektion)
  • Natürliche Berglandschaft mit Weiden, Sträuchern, Felsen, Erlenstauden, Bächlein, Wald
  • Aufnahmekapazität: bis zu 5 Bären
  • Attraktive Erreichbarkeit mit der Luftseilbahn Arosa Weisshorn
  • Bestehende Infrastrukturen wie Restaurant (Brüggerstuba), Toilettenanlagen, etc.
  • Erlebniszonen wie Besucherplattform, Kinderspielplatz, Bären-Minigolf, ein Erlebnisweg, edukative Elemente sowie Führungen sind Teil des Projekts

Geschichte

8 lange Jahre zum Ziel

Als im Juli 2010 bekannt wird, dass die beiden Jung-Bären des Bärenparks Bern fremdplatziert werden müssen, bietet die Destination Arosa sich an, eine Anlage zu bauen und die Bären aufzunehmen. Eine Projektgruppe formiert sich und skizziert ein erstes Projekt. Bereits im Herbst 2010 erhält Arosa eine beträchtliche Summe als Legat, welches zweckgebunden für das Projekt Arosa Bärenland eingesetzt werden darf. Im nächsten Frühjahr spricht sich die Bürgergemeinde Arosa dagegen aus, das Gelände „Bärabad“ für die Erstellung eines Bärenparks zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die Projektgruppe prüft daraufhin alternative Standorte.

Im November 2012 nimmt die Tierschutzorganisation VIER PFOTEN mit Arosa Tourismus Kontakt auf und signalisiert Interesse an einer Zusammenarbeit im Projekt Arosa Bärenland. In Verlauf der Jahre 2013 und 2014 werden verschiedene Standort- und Konzeptabklärungen und Evaluation des „perfekten“ Standorts gemacht. Schliesslich wird eine passende Region gefunden und im Juni 2015 gibt die Bürgergemeinde Chur ihre Zustimmung, den Perimeter bei der Mittelstation für das Arosa Bärenland zu nutzen. Es folgt im November 2016 eine Gemeindeabstimmung über die Umzonung des Perimeters, welche von den Aroserinnen und Arosern mit 78% Ja-Stimmen gutgeheissen wird.
Im Dezember 2016 wurde die Stiftung „Arosa Bären“ gegründet, gleichzeitig wurde die Baueingabe für die Basis-Infrastruktur (Gehege, Stall, Besucherplattform) ausgearbeitet. Ab April 2017 erarbeitete die Stiftung Arosa Bären zusätzlich die weiterführenden Erlebnis-Elemente in Richtung „Bärendorf Arosa“. Ein weiterer Meilenstein konnte im Mai 2017 genommen werden, als die Regierung des Kantons Graubünden der Teilrevision Ortsplanung „Arosa Bärenland“ zustimmt. Im Juli 2017 wurde der Pachtvertrag zwischen der Bürgergemeinde Chur und der Stiftung Arosa Bären über die Nutzung und den Betrieb vom Arosa Bärenland unterzeichnet. Nachdem am 2. August die Baubewilligung eingegangen ist, erfolgte am 31. August der Spatenstich und am 2. September 2017 starteten die Bauarbeiten für das Arosa Bärenland. Die Bauarbeiten konnten bis zum grossen Schnee Mitte November 2017 wie geplant abgeschlossen werden. Nach der Winterpause wurden die Arbeiten im April 2018 aufgenommen. Das Bärenland wurde im Frühsommer fertiggestellt und im Juli 2018 wurde der erste Bär nach Arosa gebracht.

Das erste Jahr im Arosa Bärenland

Im Juli 2018 wird Napa, ein ehemaliger Zirkusbär vom serbischen Palic, nach Arosa transferiert. Er ist somit der erste Bewohner im Arosa Bärenland. Am verlängerten Wochenende vom 3. bis 5. August 2018 konnte dann das Arosa Bärenland eröffnet werden, unter Anwesenheit von Bundesrätin Doris Leuthard und vielen weiteren geladenen Gästen. In den Sommermonaten konnten dann viele glückliche Besucher im Arosa Bärenland einen Einblick vom Leben von Napa in seinem neuen Zuhause erhaschen. Informative Elemente im Eingangsbereich zeigen eindrücklich, was misshandelte Bären erleiden mussten. Auf iPads kann auch der Transport von Napa verfolgt werden. Wer seine Zeit nicht nur auf der Besucherplattform verbringen möchte, kann nebenbei eine Runde Bärenminigolf spielen oder den Spielplatz besuchen.

Im November 2018 hat dann Napa seine Winterruhe angetreten und im Januar 2019 muss die Aussenanlage wegen dem vielen Schnee geschlossen werden. Am 1. Februar 2019 hat dann das lange Warten ein Ende und die zwei neuen Bären Amelia und Meimo aus einem Restaurant in Albanien treffen in Arosa ein. Anfangs April 2019 beendet Napa seine Winterruhe und am 18. Mai 2019 dürfen Amelia und Meimo zum ersten Mal in die Aussenanlage. Im Juli 2019 konnten Amelia und Meimo erfolgreich mit Napa vergesellschaftet werden und von nun an können alle drei Bären das gesamte Gehege gemeinsam nutzen.

arosabaerenland.ch