Crowther Lab

The Crowther Lab is made up of earth scientists, remote sensing experts, community ecologists, ecosystem ecologists, earth system modellers, programmers, physiologists, mathematicians, molecular biologists, physicists and biochemists. While most research teams in the world focus on one of these areas, the Crowther Lab has an interdisciplinary approach. This allows them to come at big questions from different angles and to focus on holistic results. Their aim is to develop scientific solutions for the fight against climate change and the loss of biodiversity.

Scientific solutions for the fight against climate change and the loss of biodiversity.

By developing quantitative earth ecology models, their research has contributed important insights into how restoring global ecosystems can combat climate change. The focus of the research has now turned to developing ecological mapping instruments to guide the global restoration efforts. These maps can shed light on which areas they should focus their renaturation initiatives on to achieve the greatest impact on carbon sequestration and biodiversity. It also helps them to understand the climate-related consequences of these measures. This global ecological research is necessary to understand and tackle climate change.

Nature-based solutions against climate change: the global potential for carbon restoration and storage

The Crowther Lab at ETH Zurich researches nature-based solutions for the fight against climate change. In a new study, the researchers show for the first time where in the world new forests could grow and how much carbon they would store. Jean-François Bastin, study director and, at that time, postdoc at Crowther Lab, explains: “One aspect was especially important for us when performing the calculations: we excluded cities and agricultural land from the total surface area with the potential for reforestation since humans need these spaces regardless.”

The researchers calculated that under current climatic conditions the earth could be covered by around 4.4 billion hectares of forest. That is 1.6 billion more than the 2.8 billion hectares currently available. Of these 1.6 billion hectares, 0.9 billion hectares are not used by humans. This means that currently an area the size of the USA would be available for reforestation. Once they have grown, these new forests could store 205 billion tonnes of carbon. This is about two-thirds of the 300 billion tonnes of carbon that have been released into the atmosphere due to human causes since the Industrial Revolution.

ETH professor Tom Crowther, co-author of the study and founder of the Crowther Lab, has the following to say about this: “We all knew that reforestation could make a contribution to climate change, but until now it was unclear how great the effect would be. Our study shows in no uncertain terms that reforesting the designated areas is an important tool in the fight against climate change. However, we must act quickly because it will take decades for the forests to mature and reach their potential as natural CO2 reservoirs. And it goes without saying that reforestation cannot replace the process of reducing greenhouse gas emissions. It is imperative that we exploit all solutions in order to counteract climate change.”

Total available area on which trees could grow (current existing forests and areas suitable for reforestation)

The study also shows where reforestation would be most viable. The majority of this area is concentrated in six countries: Russia (151 million hectares), USA (103 million hectares), Canada (78.4 million hectares), Australia (58 million hectares), Brazil (49.7 million hectares) and China (40.2 million hectares).

Finally, the study warns that multiple current climate models mistakenly project that climate change would increase global tree coverage. While the areas covered by forest in the Northern Hemisphere in regions such as Siberia would likely increase, there the average tree density is just 30 to 40 per cent. In sharp contrast to this, however, is the loss of super-dense tropical forests, which typically exhibit tree coverage of 90 to 100 per cent and save more CO2 per comparable area.

This area is available for reforestation (excluding existing forests, agricultural land, deserts and cities)

crowtherlab.com

Crowther Lab

Das Crowther Lab besteht aus Erdwissenschaftlern, Fernerkundungsexperten, Gemeinschaftsökologen, Ökosystemökologen, Erdsystemmodellierern, Programmierern, Physiologen, Mathematikern, Molekularbiologen, Physikern und Biochemikern. Während sich die meisten Forschungsteams der Welt auf einen dieser Bereiche konzentrieren, arbeitet das Crowther Lab interdisziplinär. Dabei beleuchten sie die wichtigsten Fragen aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln und konzentrieren sich auf ganzheitliche Ergebnisse. Sie wollen wissenschaftliche Lösungen für den Kampf gegen den Klimawandel und den Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt finden.

Wissenschaftliche Lösungen für den Kampf gegen den Klimawandel und den Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt

Durch die Erstellung quantitativer Modelle der Erdökologie haben ihre Forschungen wichtige Erkenntnisse dazu geliefert wie die globale Wiederherstellung von Ökosystemen dem Klimawandel entgegenwirken kann. Die Forschung zielt nun darauf ab, ökologische Kartierungsinstrumente zu entwickeln, die die globalen Restaurierungsbemühungen leiten. Diese Karten können Aufschluss darüber geben, auf welche Bereiche sie ihre Renaturierungsbemühungen konzentrieren sollten, um die größten Auswirkungen auf die Kohlenstoffbindung und die biologische Vielfalt zu erzielen. Es hilft ihnen auch, die klimatischen Folgen dieser Maßnahmen zu verstehen. Diese globale ökologische Forschung ist notwendig, damit der Klimawandel verstanden und angegangen werden kann.

Naturbasierte Lösungen gegen den Klimawandel: das globale Potenzial für die Wiederherstellung und Speicherung von Kohlenstoff

Das Crowther Lab an der ETH Zürich forscht an naturbasierten Lösungen für den Kampf gegen den Klimawandel. In der neuen Studie zeigten die Forschenden erstmals auf, wo auf der Welt neue Wälder wachsen könnten und wie viel Kohlenstoff sie speichern würden. Jean-François Bastin, Studienleiter und damals Postdoc am Crowther Lab erklärt: «Ein Aspekt war für uns bei den Berechnungen besonders wichtig: Wir haben Städte und landwirtschaftliche Flächen von der gesamten Fläche, die das Potenzial zur Wiederaufforstung hat, ausgeschlossen, denn diese Gebiete braucht der Mensch anderweitig.»

Die Forschenden berechneten, dass unter den aktuellen klimatischen Bedingungen die Erde mit rund 4,4 Milliarden Hektar Wald bedeckt sein könnte. Das sind 1,6 Milliarden mehr als die derzeit vorhandenen 2,8 Milliarden Hektar. Von diesen 1,6 Milliarden Hektar werden 0,9 Milliarden Hektar nicht vom Menschen genutzt. Derzeit stünde also ein Gebiet von der Grösse der USA für die Aufforstung zur Verfügung. Einst herangewachsen könnten diese neuen Wälder 205 Milliarden Tonnen Kohlenstoff speichern. Das ist etwa ein Drittel der 300 Milliarden Tonnen Kohlenstoff, die seit der industriellen Revolution durch den Menschen verursacht in die Atmosphäre gelangten.

ETH-Professor Tom Crowther, Mitautor der Studie und Gründer des Crowther Lab, meint dazu: «Wir alle wussten, dass die Aufforstung der Wälder einen Beitrag zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels leisten könnte, aber bislang war unklar, wie gross der Effekt ist. Unsere Studie zeigt deutlich, dass Flächen zu bewalden ein wichtiges Mittel gegen den Klimawandel ist. Allerdings müssen wir schnell handeln, denn es wird Jahrzehnte dauern, bis die Wälder reifen und ihr Potenzial als natürliche CO2-Speicher ausschöpfen. Und natürlich darf die Wiederaufforstung die Reduzierung von Treibhausgas-Emissionen nicht ersetzen. Wir müssen alle Lösungen ausschöpfen, um dem Klimawandel entgegenzuwirken».

Gesamte verfügbare Fläche, auf der Bäume wachsen könnten (aktueller Waldbestand und für Wiederaufforstung geeignete Fläche)

Die Studie zeigt auch, wo eine Aufforstung am besten möglich wäre. Die meiste Fläche entfällt auf nur sechs Länder: Russland (151 Millionen Hektar), USA (103 Millionen Hektar), Kanada (78,4 Millionen Hektar), Australien (58Millionen Hektar), Brasilien (49,7 Millionen Hektar) und China (40,2 Millionen Hektar).

Die Studie warnt schliesslich davor, dass viele aktuelle Klimamodelle fälschlicherweise erwarten, dass der Klimawandel die globale Baumbedeckung erhöhe. Zwar werden die Flächen der nördlichen Wälder in Regionen wie Sibirien wahrscheinlich zunehmen. Aber dort beträgt die Baumdichte durchschnittlich nur 30 bis 40 Prozent. Dem gegenüber steht allerdings der Verlust von dichten tropischen Wäldern, die typischerweise eine Baumbedeckung von 90 bis 100 Prozent aufweisen und mehr CO2 pro Fläche speichern.

Diese Fläche ist für die Wiederaufforstung von Wäldern verfügbar (ohne bestehende Wälder, Landwirtschaftsflächen, Wüsten und Städte)

crowtherlab.com