Bühler

Every day, billions of people come into contact with Bühler technologies to cover their basic needs for food and mobility. Every day, two billion people eat food made on Bühler equipment. One billion people travel in vehicles whose parts have been produced with Bühler technologies. Countless people wear glasses, use smartphones and read newspapers and magazines – they are all manufactured using process technologies and solutions from Bühler, Thanks to this global reach, Bühler is in the position to transform the challenges of today into sustainable business fields. In the process, Bühler helps to ensure a safe food supply for people around the world. While with energy-efficient cars, buildings and machines, Bühler makes a decisive contribution to climate protection. Bühler has set itself the target of enabling its customers to save 50 per cent energy, 50 per cent water and 50 per cent waste in their value chains – by as soon as 2025. Bühler’s motto is “Innovations for a better world”.

Leading process solutions and sustainable value chains

Bühler has three business areas: The solutions developed by Grains & Food guarantee safe and healthy food and animal feed. The solutions provided by Consumer Foods allow the creation of a wide range of culinary delicacies. While Advanced Materials contributes to more energy-efficient vehicles and buildings.

Bühler can connect 85% of its solutions with its proprietary developed IoT platform, Bühler Insights. Backed by high-performance digital technologies, the company tackles problems that are of crucial importance to our society. These include food safety, transparency and traceability along the entire value chain, supported by the use of blockchain among other things. Bühler’s customers benefit in addition from energy savings, higher yields and reduced waste when they employ technologies that take advantage of the production efficiencies offered by Bühler’s digital solutions

Know-how makes the difference

Since it was founded Bühler has been a pioneer in the fields of education and training. Today, all business areas offer training courses for their customers – for example, Bühler runs milling schools on all continents. At its sites in Switzerland, Austria, Germany, the USA, Brazil, China, India and South Africa, each year the company trains approximately 600 apprentices.

Innovations for a better world

Bühler invests up to 5% of its revenue in research and development – a total of CHF 149 million last year. With this investment, in 2019 the company launched over 30 new technologies and solutions and more than 30 new digital services on the market. Together with customers and partners, Bühler creates a unique and dynamic environment for innovations, which also includes start-up accelerators such as MassChallenge as well as dozens of partnerships. Bühler wants to harness its innovations to forge new paths; to make the world a better place and give it a more sustainable future. In 2019 the company opened its new CUBIC Innovation Campus in Uzwil, Switzerland, along with eight freshly renovated application centres. Over three years Bühler has invested around CHF 50 million in these research and development facilities. It is there that the company implements its collaborative innovation concept and taps into new dimensions of cooperation.

Swiss family company

Bühler was founded in Uzwil, Switzerland, in 1860, and today it is represented with over 30 production sites and almost 100 service centres in 140 countries around the world. The strategy “In the region, for the region” is implemented with unwavering commitment and thus is in line with Swiss values and traditions. Bühler develops, designs and manufactures at all locations according to Swiss quality standards and procedures.

In 2019 its approximately 12,800 employees generated revenue of 3.3 billion Swiss francs. Bühler has to this day remained a family business. Jeannine, Maya and Karin Bühler are fifth-generation owners. They represent the interests of the family on the Board of Directors. Stefan Scheiber is the current CEO of Bühler – the sixth since the company was founded. In 2020 the company is celebrating its 160th anniversary.

buhlergroup.com

Bühler

Milliarden Menschen kommen täglich mit Technologien von Bühler in Kontakt, um ihren Grundbedarf an Lebensmitteln und Mobilität zu decken. Zwei Milliarden Menschen essen täglich Lebensmittel, die auf Anlagen von Bühler hergestellt wurden. Eine Milliarde Menschen reisen in Fahrzeugen, deren Teile mit Technologien von Bühler produziert wurden. Unzählige Menschen tragen Brillen, benutzen Smartphones und lesen Zeitungen und Zeitschriften – sie alle werden mit Prozesstechnologien und -lösungen von Bühler hergestellt. Dank dieser globalen Relevanz ist Bühler in der Lage, die heutigen Herausforderungen in nachhaltige Geschäftsfelder zu verwandeln. Bühler trägt dazu bei, die Welt sicher zu ernähren. Und mit energieeffizienten Autos, Gebäuden und Maschinen trägt Bühler zum Klimaschutz bei. Bühler hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, dass seine Kunden in ihren Wertschöpfungsketten 50 Prozent Energie, 50 Prozent Wasser und 50 Prozent Abfall einsparen können – und das bis 2025. «Innovationen für eine bessere Welt» ist das Motto von Bühler.

Führende Prozesslösungen und nachhaltige Wertschöpfungsketten

Bühler hat drei Geschäftsbereiche: Die Lösungen von Grains & Food sorgen für sichere und gesunde Lebens- und Futtermittel. Mit den Lösungen von Consumer Foods lassen sich kulinarische Köstlichkeiten herstellen. Und Advanced Materials leistet einen Beitrag zur Fertigung energieeffizienter Fahrzeuge und Gebäude.

Bühler kann 85 Prozent seiner Lösungen mit seiner eigens entwickelten IoT-Plattform Bühler Insights verbinden. Mit leistungsstarken digitalen Technologien geht das Unternehmen zentrale Probleme an. Dazu gehören Lebensmittelsicherheit, Transparenz und Rückverfolgbarkeit entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette, wobei das Unternehmen unter anderem Blockchain einsetzt. Die Kunden von Bühler profitieren auch von Energieeinsparungen, höheren Erträgen und weniger Abfall, wenn ihre Technologien dank der digitalen Lösungen von Bühler effizienter produzieren.

Know-how macht den Unterschied

Bühler ist seit der Unternehmensgründung ein Vorreiter in Sachen Schulung und Ausbildung. Heute bieten alle Geschäftsbereiche Schulungskurse für ihre Kunden an – Bühler unterhält beispielsweise auf allen Kontinenten Müllereifachschulen. An seinen Standorten in der Schweiz, Österreich, Deutschland, den USA, Brasilien, China, Indien und Südafrika bildet das Unternehmen jedes Jahr rund 600 Lernende aus.

Innovationen für eine bessere Welt

Bühler investiert bis zu 5 Prozent seines Umsatzes in Forschung und Entwicklung – 149 Millionen CHF im vergangenen Jahr. Mit dieser Investition hat das Unternehmen 2019 über 30 neue Technologien und Lösungen und mehr als 30 neue digitale Services auf den Markt gebracht. Gemeinsam mit Kunden und Partnern bildet Bühler ein einzigartiges, dynamisches Umfeld für Innovationen, zu dem auch Start-up-Beschleuniger wie MassChallenge sowie dutzende Partnerschaften gehören. Bühler will mit seinen Innovationen Wegweisendes bewirken und die Welt besser und nachhaltiger machen. 2019 hat das Unternehmen in Uzwil, Schweiz, seinen neuen Innovationscampus CUBIC sowie acht frisch renovierte Anwendungszentren eröffnet. Über drei Jahre investierte Bühler rund CHF 50 Millionen in diese Forschungs- und Entwicklungseinrichtungen. Dort setzt das Unternehmen sein kooperatives Innovationskonzept um und erschliesst neue Dimensionen für die Zusammenarbeit.

Schweizer Familienunternehmen

Bühler wurde 1860 im schweizerischen Uzwil gegründet und ist heute mit über 30 Fertigungsstandorten und fast 100 Servicezentren in 140 Ländern vertreten. Die Strategie «In der Region, für die Region» wird mit hohem Engagement umgesetzt und entspricht damit Schweizer Werten und Traditionen. Bühler entwickelt, konstruiert und fertigt an sämtlichen Standorten nach Schweizer Qualitätsstandards und Verfahren. 

2019 erwirtschafteten rund 12’800 Mitarbeitende einen Umsatz von 3,3 Milliarden Schweizer Franken. Bühler ist bis heute in Familienhand. Jeannine, Maya und Karin Bühler gehört das Unternehmen in der fünften Generation. Sie vertreten die Interessen der Familie im Verwaltungsrat. Stefan Scheiber führt Bühler heute als sechster CEO seit der Gründung. 2020 feiert das Unternehmen sein 160-jähriges Bestehen.

buhlergroup.com