view all projects

Help for asbestos victims and their relatives

Contact with the one-time “miracle fibre” asbestos has painful consequences. The EFA Foundation supports those affected and their close relatives, as well as providing information to interested parties – quickly, fairly and without red tape. Set an example. Support the work of the foundation. Donate now.
Direkt spenden

Background

“My mother was a total family person. She gave everything for her two children, seven grandchildren and seven great-grandchildren. She loved to do home improvement. At that time, we didn’t know that handling asbestos was so dangerous.”
Mrs Santalucia, Relative

Asbestos can cause cancer. It is still the case that around 200 people in Switzerland contract a malignant tumour in the chest or peritoneal area (mesothelioma) every year. In most case, this is because they came into contact with asbestos at work, but it is also possible that they merely played with the material in the yard as children – or that they touched it while renovating their flat themselves, like Mrs Santalucia’s mother.

Such a diagnosis is twice as punishing for those affected, because only illness caused by occupational exposure to asbestos is covered by the compulsory accident insurance. So in addition to the physical and mental stress of the disease, there are usually financial worries as well.

Donate now. Show solidarity. 
Read more

Idea

“Anyone who falls ill through no fault of their own due to contact with asbestos needs support. That is exactly why the EFA Foundation is so urgently needed.”
Dr Michael Schlunegger, Care Service for German-speaking Switzerland

The EFA Foundation helps those affected and their relatives by providing support and counselling. It ensures financial equality with those who fall ill through exposure at work, as well as raising public awareness through targeted information.

The EFA Foundation operates on a non-profit basis and falls under the purview of the Swiss Federal Supervisory Authority for Foundations. Its work is funded by voluntary donations from business and industry, associations and other institutions or private individuals. In order to be able to finance its work over the next ten years, the foundation requires substantial financial resources. Only then can it provide the services promised to those affected and their families.

Help us help. Every gesture of support is proof of social responsibility.
Read more

Implementation

“Our greatest success is that the EFA Foundation provides real help that reaches those affected.”
Urs Berger, President of the Foundation Board

Greater social justice for asbestos victims through financial support

The EFA Foundation helps those affected and their relatives by providing financial support – quickly and without red tape – especially if they were not exposed to the material through their work. In this way, it ensures that people whose suffering is not recognised as an occupational disease also receive support.

Care Service: support for those affected and their relatives

Do I want treatment? What therapies are available? Who can help me? For most of those affected, these questions can be overwhelming. The EFA Foundation has therefore set up a Care Service in cooperation with the cantonal lung leagues of Zurich, Vaud and Ticino. Trained specialists advise not only those affected and their relatives, but also other interested parties, in relation to all the questions that arise in connection with an asbestos disease – over the telephone or in person. This service is free of charge.

Support the work of the EFA Foundation. Every gesture of support is a sign of empathy.
Read more

Initiators

“Providing help is a question of attitude, not guilt."
Anders Holte, Member of the Foundation Board

In 2015, the Federal Councillor Alain Berset convened a round table. Under the leadership of the former Federal Councillor Moritz Leuenberger, representatives from business and politics sat down together. Their goal: to find a solution in order to support those affected and their relatives quickly and fairly. After analysing the initial situation, the participants proposed the establishment of the foundation Compensation Fund for Asbestos Victims, also known as the EFA Foundation, in December 2016. It began its work a few months later.

“With the EFA Foundation, we have created an instrument that works. Now we have to finance it. We can only appeal to the solidarity of the business community here, so that together we can reach our goal and continue to provide financial support to asbestos victims in the future. There is no statute of limitations when it comes to responsibility.” Urs Berger, President of the Foundation Board

You too can support the work of the EFA Foundation. Donate now.
Read more

There are no updates available
Anonymous 10 CHF
Marion Schmitz 100 CHF
Pascal Jenny 100 CHF
Karl Müller 160 CHF
Bernhard und Esther Hotz 145 CHF
Vermittelt durch Swisscom 815 CHF
Currently, there are still no project partners if you are interested, please contact us via info@there-for-you.com.

Primary Partners

Alle Projekte ansehen

Hilfe für Asbestopfer und deren Angehörige

Der Umgang mit der einstigen Wunderfaser Asbest hat leidvolle Folgen. Die Stiftung EFA unterstützt Betroffene sowie enge Angehörige und informiert Interessierte – schnell, fair und unbürokratisch. Setzen Sie ein Zeichen. Unterstützen Sie die Arbeit der Stiftung mit Ihrer Spende. Jetzt.
Direkt spenden

Ausgangslage

«Meine Mutter war ein absoluter Familienmensch. Für ihre zwei Kinder, sieben Enkel und sieben Grossenkel hat sie alles gegeben. Sie hat es geliebt, zu handwerkeln. Damals wussten wir nicht, dass der Umgang mit Asbest so gefährlich ist.»
Frau Santalucia, Angehörige

Asbest kann Krebs verursachen. Noch immer erkranken in der Schweiz jährlich etwa 200 Menschen an einem bösartigen Tumor im Brust- oder Bauchfellbereich (Mesotheliom). Die meisten von ihnen, weil sie beruflich mit Asbest in Kontakt gekommen sind. Aber auch, weil sie als Kinder nur im Hof mit dem Material gespielt haben. Oder bei der Renovation ihrer Wohnung selbst Hand angelegt haben, wie die Mutter von Frau Santalucia.

Diese Diagnose straft diese Betroffenen doppelt hart. Denn nur die Erkrankung durch den berufsbedingten Kontakt mit Asbest ist durch die gesetzliche Unfallversicherung gedeckt. So kommen zu den körperlichen und seelischen Belastungen der Krankheit meist auch noch finanzielle Sorgen.

Spenden Sie jetzt. Setzen Sie ein Zeichen der Solidarität. 
Mehr lesen

Idee

«Wer unverschuldet durch den Kontakt mit Asbest erkrankt, benötigt Unterstützung. Genau deshalb braucht es die Stiftung EFA so dringend.»
Dr. Michael Schlunegger, Care-Service Deutschschweiz

Die Stiftung EFA hilft Betroffenen und Angehörigen durch Betreuung und Beratung. Sie sorgt für finanzielle Gleichstellung zu Betroffenen, die durch den beruflichen Kontakt erkranken. Und sie sensibilisiert die Öffentlichkeit durch gezielte Information.

Die Stiftung EFA arbeitet gemeinnützig und unterliegt der Eidgenössischen Stiftungsaufsicht. Ihre Arbeit basiert auf freiwilligen Spenden aus der Wirtschaft und der Industrie, von Verbänden und anderen Institutionen oder von Privatpersonen. Um die Arbeit der nächsten zehn Jahre finanzieren zu können, benötigt die Stiftung substanzielle finanzielle Mittel. Nur so kann sie den Betroffenen und Angehörigen die versprochenen Leistungen anbieten.

Helfen Sie helfen. Jede Unterstützung ist ein Beweis für soziale Verantwortung.
Mehr lesen

Umsetzung

«Der grösste Erfolg ist, dass die Stiftung EFA echte Hilfe leistet, die bei den Betroffenen ankommt.»
Urs Berger, Präsident des Stiftungsrats

Mehr soziale Gerechtigkeit für Asbestopfer durch finanzielle Unterstützung

Die Stiftung EFA hilft Betroffenen sowie deren engen Angehörigen durch finanzielle Unterstützung – schnell und unbürokratisch. Vor allem, wenn diese Personen nicht berufsbedingt mit dem Material in Kontakt gekommen sind. Damit stellt sie sicher, dass auch Personen, deren Leiden nicht als Berufskrankheit anerkannt ist, Unterstützung erhalten.

Der Care-Service: Unterstützung für Betroffene und Angehörige

Will ich eine Behandlung? Welche Therapien gibt es? Wer kann mir helfen? Diese Fragen überfordern die meisten Betroffenen. Die Stiftung EFA hat deshalb in Zusammenarbeit mit den kantonalen Lungenligen Zürich, Waadt und Tessin einen Care-Service eingerichtet. Geschultes Fachpersonal berät Betroffene, Angehörige, aber auch Interessierte bei allen Fragen, die im Zusammenhang mit einer Asbesterkrankung auftreten – telefonisch oder persönlich. Das Angebot ist kostenfrei, mehr Informationen finden Sie hier: www.stiftung-efa.ch/wir-helfen

Fördern Sie die Arbeit der Stiftung EFA. Jede Unterstützung ist ein Zeichen der Empathie.
Mehr lesen

Initiant*innen

«Hilfe zu leisten, ist eine Frage der Haltung, nicht der Schuld.»
Anders Holte, Mitglied des Stiftungsrats

2015 berief Bundesrat Alain Berset einen Runden Tisch ein. Unter der Leitung von Alt-Bundesrat Moritz Leuenberger setzten sich Vertreter aus Wirtschaft und Politik zusammen. Das Ziel: Eine Lösung zu finden, um Betroffene und ihre Angehörigen schnell und fair zu unterstützen. Nach der Analyse der Ausgangslage schlugen die Teilnehmenden im Dezember 2016 die Gründung der Stiftung Entschädigungsfonds für Asbestopfer, kurz Stiftung EFA, vor. Wenige Monate später nahm sie ihre Arbeit auf.

«Wir haben mit der Stiftung EFA ein Instrument geschaffen, das funktioniert. Nun müssen wir es finanzieren. Wir können hier nur an die Solidarität der Wirtschaft appellieren. Damit wir gemeinsam unser Ziel erreichen und Asbestopfern auch in Zukunft finanzielle Unterstützung gewähren können. Verantwortung kennt keine Verjährungsfristen.» Urs Berger, Präsident des Stiftungsrats

Unterstützen auch Sie die Arbeit der Stiftung EFA mit Ihrer Spende. Jetzt.
Mehr lesen

Es sind noch keine Updates verfügbar
Anonym 10 CHF
Marion Schmitz 100 CHF
Pascal Jenny 100 CHF
Karl Müller 160 CHF
Bernhard und Esther Hotz 145 CHF
Vermittelt durch Swisscom 815 CHF
Aktuell gibt es noch keine Projektpartner*innen. Falls Du Interesse hast, melde Dich bei uns über info@there-for-you.com.

Hauptpartner*innen